Individualized Interventions Lab

The overarching goal of the Lab is to develop psychological interventions that improve the educational prospects of children. We are convinced that interventions are most effective when they are tailored to the individual child. Effective individualization not only considers the cognitive prerequisites of a learner at a particular point in time, but also takes into account that these prerequisites may change quickly. Such a dynamic form of individualization is made possible by the advent of educational technologies. We, thus, make extensive use of technology that helps to integrate individualized interventions into the daily routine of school children.

In our research, we focus particularly on two prerequisites that are known to develop rapidly across childhood: children’s prior knowledge and their self-regulatory abilities. We develop and test methods to successfully activate prior knowledge in children, which facilitates knowledge acquisition. We also develop and test interventions that improve children’s self-regulatory processes during learning.

Here is a list that gives you an impression of which studies are currently going on in the Lab:

ACHILLES
iLearn
PREDICT

PROMPT

Our Team

Picture showing Garvin Brod

Garvin Brod

Head of Lab

+49 (0)69-24708-139
garvin.brod@dipf.de

Picture showing Elena Galeano-Keiner

Elena Galeano-Keiner

Academic Staff Post-Doc

+49 (0)69-24708-420
galeano@dipf.de

Picture showing Alexandra Schmitterer

Alexandra Schmitterer

Academic Staff Post-Doc

+49 (0)69-24708-379
schmitterer@dipf.de

Picture showing Maria Theobald

Maria Theobald

Academic Staff Post-Doc

+49 (0)69-24708-451
theobald@dipf.de

Picture showing Jasmin Breitwieser

Jasmin Breitwieser

Academic Staff Pre-Doc

+49 (0)69-24708-375
breitwieser@dipf.de

Picture showing Lea Nobbe

Lea Nobbe

Academic Staff Pre-Doc

+49 (0)69-24708-518
nobbe@dipf.de

Picture showing Leonard Tetzlaff

Leonard Tetzlaff

Academic Staff Pre-Doc

+49 (0)69-24708-392
tetzlaff@dipf.de

Picture showing Lea Nobbe

Florens Eckert

Technical Research Assistant

+49 (0)69-24708-572
eckert@dipf.de