Cognitive Development
Lab

Cognitive, socio-emotional, motivational, and volitional processes show dynamics at different time-scale levels, ranging from short-term fluctuations, over day-to-day variation, to long-term changes across the lifespan. We are convinced that research on developmental and educational processes can benefit immensely from investigating the interrelation of such processes (e.g., is cognitive performance related to momentary affect?) and their connection across time-scale levels. This way, we aim at understanding how individual differences in long-term psychological and educational outcomes are produced by complex and individually differing dynamics.

The Cognitive Development Lab investigates such dynamics with intensive longitudinal study designs that are embedded in the real-life environments of children and adults.

Our research includes the development of self-report instruments and cognitive tasks for ambulatory assessment studies and of advanced statistical models for (connecting) short-term dynamics and longer-term change processes. Based on the identification of individual differences in the short-term dynamics, we furthermore aim at developing and evaluating individualized interventions that are applicable in everyday life contexts.

Current projects:
DESIGN
EDUCATE
SASCHA
UPWIND
zEbra

Our Team

Picture showing Friederike Blume

Friederike Blume

Academic Staff Post-Doc

+49 (0)69-24708-263
blume@dipf.de

Picture showing Florian Schmiedek

Florian Schmiedek

Head of Lab

+49 (0)69-24708-820
schmiedek@dipf.de

Picture showing Andrea Schmidt

Andrea Schmidt

Academic Staff Post-Doc

+49 (0)69-24708-159
andrea.schmidt@dipf.de

Andrea Kramer

Academic Staff Pre-Doc

+49 (0)69-24708-169
kramer.andrea@dipf.de

Die Abbildung zeigt einen Platzhalter für ein Personenfoto

Lena Wieland

Academic Staff Pre-Doc

+49 (0)69-24708-853
wieland@dipf.de

Aamir Sajjad

Software Engineer

+49 (0)69-24708-844
sajjad@dipf.de

Picture showing Michaela Menstell

Anna-Maria Grimm

Technical Research Assistant

+49 (0)69-24708-160
  grimm@dipf.de

 

Picture showing Michaela Menstell

Michaela Menstell
(on parental leave)

Technical Research Assistant

+49 (0)69-24708-879
menstell@dipf.de

 

Picture showing Gabriele Naumann-Dietzsch

Gabriele Naumann-Dietzsch

Assistant

+49 (0)69-24708-821
naumanng@dipf.de